Change Language:
Castles
Castle of Parga
few clouds
13°C
Humidity: 77%
Clouds: 20%

Parga is a town 68km far from Preveza and 40km far from Igoumenitsa. The Castle of Parga stands at the entrance of the harbor, opposite the islands Paxi and Antipaxi. The hill had been fortified since the Venetian period and constituted the main defensive line against the pirates’ invasions and the Ottoman rulers. The castle has undergone many changes since it was rebuilt and demolished many times.

 

History

The hill above the port had been fortified pretty early in order to protect the residents from the pirates’ attacks. The first fortification projects were carried by the Normans. 1452 was the first time that a conqueror (Hajji Beis) took over the fortified side of the town for two yeras. In 1454 the fortress was once again on the residents’ service. In 1537 the Muslin pirate Hayreddin Barbarossa attacked the town and demolished both the fortress and the town. The Venetians re-built the fortress but before it finished the Ottomans attacked it and destroyed it once again.

The most important moment of the castle is the late 18th century (1792) when the Venetians built it for the third and last time. During this period, the Venetians applied more elaborated defensive methods which along with the natural fortification of the hill made the new fortress an impregnable castle. The eight external towers that stood at the perimeter of the wall enhanced the castle’s fortification line. In the interior the houses were planned to be build in a certain site, the one right next to the other and at a distance from the Walls so as not to be reached through the sea. The supplies were carried from the two bays of the area (Valtos and Pagonias) while the water needs were covered by 'Kremasma' spring.

In 1819, Parga, which was occupied by the British, was sold to the Turks and the castle was under Ali Pasha’s administration. The Turkish commander enhanced the defensive line of the castle and constructed a building at the top of the hill to house his harem and the Turkish Baths.

At the arched gate you can distinguish the winged lion of St. Markus, the emblems of Ali Pasha, two-headed eagles and numerous inscriptions. A glance at the castle is enough to understand the strong defense line that was acquired from the Venetian period. Strong bastions, redoubts halls, galleries equipped with supplies, boxes of small arms and arched corridors are the main elements that made the castle a place of high strategic importance. The castle of Parga was the tipping point for those who fought against the Turks. The residents of Parga and Souli took shelter here, gave heroic battles and kept this land free for many centuries. In fact, after many years of unsuccessful attempts and before purchasing the town from the British, Ali Pasha decided to build a castle on a hill above Parga (Anthousa Castle) in order to besiege the town constantly.

 

Further information

You can reach the castle through the narrow alleys and the steps from the port.

The castle hosts a Photo Exhibition while the two restored buildings host theatrical performances, exhibitions and various cultural events. The castle is open to visitors daily from them morning till the evening.



© myGreece.travel photo
© myGreece.travel photo